Colonies (from C to G) 


  • Cameroon

    Cameroon is an African country overlooking the Gulf of Guinea and mainly surrounded by Nigeria to the north, the Central African Republic to the east and the Congo and Gabon to the south.

    This territory was a German colony from 1884 onwards and stamps were issued between 1896 and 1914 (German stamps overloaded "Kamerun" then the specific series of imperial yachts).

    In 1915, Cameroon was occupied by a Franco-British expeditionary force. During this period, each power issued its own stamps in addition to common emissions.

    Thus, the British emirates stamps of German overloaded Cameroon "C.E.F. (Cameroons Expeditionary Force) and the French stamps Congo, the panther series in particular, overloaded "French Occupation of Cameroon".

    After the war, part of Cameroon was entrusted to Great Britain (this territory was integrated into Nigeria) and another to France which became a protectorate. The first stamps were issued from 1921 with Congo stamps overloaded "Cameroon".

    From 1925, specific series of stamps were issued for this colony.

    Cameroon gained independence in 1960 and then issued its own stamps.

  • Canton
  • Comoros
  • Congo
  • Ivory Coast

    Ivory Coast is a West African country overlooking the Gulf of Guinea. It is mainly surrounded by Ghana to the east, Guinea and Burkina Faso to the north.

    The territory became a French colony in 1892 and was later integrated into French West Africa (AOF).

    • Before 1892, stamps from the French colonies were used in certain counters.

    • From 1892 until 1944, the Ivory Coast issued its own stamps as a French colony.

    The first stamps of 1892 were of the Group type with the name Ivory Coast in the cartouche. This type was then taken back in 1900 with 4 new stamps.

                                                                     Timbres de Côte d'Ivoire de 1900 N°14

    The first specific series of the colony was issued from 1913 and represents the lagoon of Ebrié. This type was then often repeated.

                                      Timbres de Côte d'Ivoire de 1924 n°73 à 80

    • From 1944 to 1958, only AOF issues were used (these stamps can be found under the corresponding heading).

    In 1958, the country became an autonomous republic and then became independent in August 1960.

  • Somali Coast 
  • Dahomey
  • Fezzan
  • Gabon
  • Ghadamès
  • Big Lebanon
  • Guadeloupe
  • Guinea
  • Guiana