Papua New Guinea stamps There are 28 products.

Showing 1 - 28 of 28 items
Showing 1 - 28 of 28 items
Papua New Guinea stamps

Papua New Guinea is constituted by the eastern part of the island of New Guinea (the western part of which belongs to Indonesia). This island is the third largest in the world (after Australia and Greenland). It also includes important islands such as Bougainville and the Solomon Islands (see this name).


Papua New Guinea was formed in 1952 by the union of two territories: Papua (formerly British New Guinea) and New Guinea (formerly New Guinea).

The country was then under Australian administration until its independence in 1973.

Independence came in 1975 and the country was then a Commonwealth member monarchy.

Before 1952, the parties used either the New Guinea stamps or the Papua New Guinea stamps.

The first stamp of Papua New Guinea issued in 1952 is part of a current series of 15 values: it represents the climbing kangaroo.

Premier timbre de Papouasie-Nouvelle-Guinée de 1952

The country subsequently produced numerous thematic series on the fauna or flora of the island

Séries de timbres de Papouasie-Nouvelle-Guinée sur la thématique des fleurs

or on local customs.

Timbres de Papouasie-Nouvelle-Guinée sur les masques

The first Block sheet of 1975 is devoted to the independence of the country.